Home > love > The Wrong Side of History

The Wrong Side of History

Slactivist wrote a compelling post, ‘There’s nothing mutual about it’: White evangelicals, privileged distress and grievance envy.

As I read Fred’s description of the father in Pleasantville, I realized that I am living out a similar experience.

My parents were on the correct side of interracial marriage back in the late 60s. They wisely concluded that nothing in the Bible condemned people with different-colored skin from marrying. Today, my generation looks at people my parents’ age and think it’s distasteful and quaint that people used to consider biracial couples sinful.

In another 30 years, people will condemn my hesitation to approve gay marriage in the same way.

There is no question I’ll be on the wrong side of this issue in the minds of most Christians when I’m my parents’ age.

Categories: love
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

