Home > apostle, jesus, luke > Jesus Selects His Apostles (Emissaries)

Jesus Selects His Apostles (Emissaries)

Around this time, Jesus went outside the city to a nearby mountain, along with a large crowd of His disciples. He prayed through the night to God. The next morning, He chose 12 of them and gave each a new title of “emissary. “

They are no longer simply disciples, which means “learners”; now they are also apostles, which means “emissaries.”

They included Simon (Jesus called him Peter) and Andrew (Simon’s brother); James and John; Philip and Bartholomew; Matthew and Thomas; James (son of Alphaeus) and Simon (known as the Zealot); Judas (son of James) and the other Judas (Judas Iscariot, who later betrayed Jesus). (vv. 12-16, The Voice)

Categories: apostle, jesus, luke
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: